At COP28, Twenty-Two Countries Commit to Triple Nuclear Energy Capacity by 2050

During the Climate Change conference in Dubai, 22 countries from four continents launched the Declaration to Triple Nuclear Energy on Dec. 2. In addition to the U.S., which apparently proposed the initiative, the endorsers include 14 European countries.

According to the press release issued by the United States Department of Energy, the Declaration “recognizes the key role of nuclear energy in achieving global net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050 and keeping the 1.5-degree goal within reach. Core elements of the declaration include working together to advance a goal of tripling nuclear energy capacity globally by 2050 and inviting shareholders of international financial institutions to encourage the inclusion of nuclear energy in energy lending policies.” >

The statement was endorsed by Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Ghana, Hungary, Japan, Republic of Korea, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

As of this writing, it is unclear if some countries were asked to endorse the Declaration and refused to do so, for whatever reasons, and if others were not invited. However, at the end of the statement, the participants in the pledge “Call on other countries to join this declaration”.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email